Hazelton Mayor Alice Maitland Defeated By Dennis Sterritt

John Crawford

Long time mayor Alice Maitland, who was first elected in 1976, has been defeated by Dennis Sterritt.

The unofficial results according to Civic Info BC are 76-45 in favour of Sterritt.

[PHOTO:   Alice Maitland, mayor of Hazelton since 1976 -- defeated Oct 20, 2018]


Elected to council are :  Jody Tetreau, Julie Maitland ,  Buddy Smith and Wendy Blackstock  -- these are unofficial results according to Civic Info BC.

The official results are declared by local election officials by no later than 4pm, Wednesday October 24th, 2018.

[PHOTO:  Dennis Sterritt, mayor-elect of Hazelton]

Maitland was one of three northwest mayors who were defeated in Saturday's local elections, according to unofficial results posted by Civic Info BC.

The others were Port Edward's Dave MacDonald, who was beaten by Knut Bjorndal;  and Greg Martin in Queen Charlotte, who went down to defeat at the hands of Kris Olsen.

Winning re-election were Taylor Bachrach in Smithers, who defeated Randy Bell;  Gail Lowry in New Hazelton, who outpolled challenger Robert Henwood;  and Kitimat's Phil Germuth, defeating Dave Johnston, according to unofficial preliminary numbers.  

Elsewhere around the northwest -- Brad Layton is the new mayor-elect of Telkwa, decisively defeating John McDivitt;   in Burns Lake, Dolores Funk will be the new mayor, winning over Albert Gerow and John Rauch. 
In Masset, former mayor Barry Pages has been successful in winning that job again.

Mayors elected by acclamation were Lee Brain in Prince Rupert, Carol Leclerc in Terrace, Doug Daugert in Port Clements, Gina McKay in Stewart, Shane Brienen in Houston and Linda McGuire in Granisle.

In addition to electing six councillors, Stewart voters also defeated a proposal to reduce the size of council to 4 seats for the next municipal election.

The complete list of winners on council, as well as regional districts and school boards in our region, can be found on our websites.    

Use of this Website assumes acceptance of Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
© 2021     All rights reserved
2021 Bell Media